National and international recognition

Two mangrove ecosystems were declared protected areas on 2 February 2008 by the Federal Government of Mexico. The mangroves are among eight that will be protected as part of a program of prioritizing conservation within the "Ramsar convention on Wetlands" The two ecosystems (the estuary at Balandra and the El Mogote sand bar at La Paz, B.C.S.) were restored in the previous decade by our group.

The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands ( The Convention on Wetlands, signed in Ramsar, Iran, in 1971, is an intergovernmental treaty which provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. There are presently 158 Contracting Parties to the Convention, with 1717 wetland sites, totaling 159 million hectares, designated for inclusion in the Ramsar List of Wetlands of International Importance. The headquarters of the convention is in Gland, Switzerland, on Lake Geneva.

National Declaration

home page sections' menu